A Great Lady Has Been Called Home To Heaven!

A great lady has been called home to Heaven……..

Virgene as she was known by her many friends was born and bred in Cass County, Illinois, Growing up to be a lovely young lady, Lola Virgene Davis married a young Navy midshipman by the name of Charles Edward Burnham. I believe that he grew up in Cass County, too. In a rarity even for that time, this wonderful couple was married for approximately 34 years until Charles’ death on February 16, 1988. I have it on good authority that he was one of the first to greet Mrs. Burnham when she arrived in Heaven.

The couple lived in San Diego where Charles was stationed in the Navy. After he transferred to the Air Force, at different times they lived on bases in Illinois, Texas, Japan, Indiana, Arizona, California and New Mexico. Charles also served two tours of duty in Vietnam before he retired in 1973.

Back in the day, I remembered Virgene for a column that she ran in the Virginia Gazette. A volunteer always at the ready, she also helped out in various activities around town that positively impacted the lives of Virginia’s citizens. Virgene was well-liked for the right reason — she was always there to lend a helping hand.

The couple raised four great kids. Growing up, I always thought highly of all of them. To this day, I keep in touch with Leona and Lola through Facebook. By the way Lola, I didn’t know until I read the obituary that you were named after your mom! I always thought Lola was a beautiful name anyway. In fact, it is a part of one of the most beautiful songs in the entire operatic repertory, O Lola Ch’ai Di Latti La Cammisa from Cavalleria Rusticana by Pietro Mascagni. Most simply know it as O Lola. I hope that David and Stanley are doing well by the way.

The last time that I saw Virgene was at a Mexican restaurant in Beardstown during one of my Greyhound travels. Even after many years, she recognized me right away. At the time, I was in the middle of a dinner conversation with someone and your mom didn’t want to disturb us. However, I could tell from her twinkling eyes and smile that she was happy to see me. That was always the case with your mom, she was sincere and her sentiments were heartfelt.

Last night, after I read that Virgene had died, it affected me to the point that I pondered on its significance several times throughout the night. A few days ago, I had yet another conversation with someone that was trying to convince me that God didn’t exist and that Christianity was one of the biggest lies ever perpetrated by man. As she’s fairly zealous about trying to trash Christianity at every opportunity, I’ve often wondered what she tells people at a funeral celebrating the life of a loved one that has passed on into eternity.

What I will confidently tell you, Leona, Lola, Stanley and David is that you will see both of your parents again — and hopefully not too soon, eh? Over the years, I’ve written at least 12 articles proclaiming our eternal design by a loving Father that created Heaven for the enjoyment of His children. While it doesn’t take away the pain of separation, it does remove the remorseless ‘sting’ that death inflicts. My belief that this is true is marrow deep.

I am deeply sorry that I cannot be there Thursday and Friday for the visitation and funeral. However, my love and prayers will be there to help celebrate your mom’s entrance into Heaven! In addition, my prayers will be with you in the coming days, weeks, and months ahead.

A huge and heartfelt hug!
Tony

http://www.buchanancody.com/obituary/lola-virgene-burnham

3 Comments

Leave a comment